The Champagne region is the most northern of all wine growing regions in France. It covers 34207 hectares of vineyards, all classified as AOC (appellation d’origine contrôlé) Champagne. Thereof, approximately 31600 hectares are currently in production. The Champagne region represents 2% of the total surface of vineyards in France.


Most of the surface is located in the Marne district (22730 hectares), with some also in the neighboring districts Aube and Haute-Marne (8073 hectares), as well as Aisne and Seine-et-Marne (3404 hectares).


The Marne is divided in the following sub regions:


Montagne de Reims (mountain of Reims): a plateau limited in the North by the valleys of the rivers Vesle and Ardre and in the South by the river Marne.


Vallée de la Marne (Marne valley): it extends for about 100 kilometers between the villages of Saâcy in the department Seine-et-Marne until the village of Tour/Marne beyond the city of Epernay


Côte des Blancs : situated south of Epernay, the “hillside of the white” (grapes) got his name from the Chardonnay grapes which are mainly produced there


- Le Sézannais: region around the city of Sezanne


- The region around the city of Vitry le Francois.

Champagne is mainly produced from three grape varieties which have the following repartition of the total production surface:


Pinot Noir: 38%

Pinot Meunier: 34%

Chardonnay:  28%